

Morecambe Town Council

Morecambe Town Hall,
Marine Road
Morecambe
Lancashire
LA4 5AF

www.morecambe.gov.uk



10 November 2023

To: Members of Morecambe Town Council - Cllr C Ainscough, Cllr J Ainscough, Cllr D Blacow, Cllr D Bottoms, Cllr L Bradbury, Cllr T Clarke, Cllr B Cooper, Cllr F Cooper, Cllr C Cozler, Cllr R Dennison, Cllr W Dixon, Cllr K Gee, Cllr J Goodrich, Cllr J Hanson, Cllr P Hart, Cllr C Kent, Cllr D Knight, Cllr G Knight, Cllr J Livermore, Cllr M Pattison, Cllr J Pilling, Cllr J Rogerson, Cllr J Slater, Cllr M Stenneken, Cllr R Walsh, Cllr D Whitaker.

Dear Councillor,

Dated this tenth day of November 2023, you are hereby summoned to attend a Meeting of Morecambe Town Council to be held at 19:00 on the sixteenth day of November 2023, to transact business listed in the agenda.

The meeting will be held in Morecambe Town Hall, Marine Road East, Morecambe, LA4 5AF to transact business on the agenda.

Note to Councillors:

If you are unable to attend the meeting, please notify the Proper Officer of your apologies.

Note to Public:

Electors of the town wishing to address the Council are advised to notify the Proper Officer before 10am on the day of the meeting. Permission to speak at the meeting will be at the discretion of the Chairman. Public participation session at a meeting shall not require response or debate and shall solely consist of matters relating to items on the agenda. If the representation made is considered outside the remit of Morecambe Town Council, electors will be referred to the principal authority or other appropriate body.

Your sincerely,

Mr Luke Trevaskis, CiLCA, PSLCC. Chief Executive

- 1. **Apologies** to receive apologies for absence and consider any reasons for acceptance. *(Local Government Act 1972, Section 85)*
- 2. **Declarations** to record any declared interests relating to the business of the meeting and receive any dispensation requests from the Proper Officer.

Agenda

(Localism Act 2011, Section 31)

- 3. **Digital Transformation** to receive an update from Lancaster City Council regarding the new digital transformation strategy including details on when/where the new digital screens will be installed in Morecambe, the content that will be available on the screens, the level of interactivity that will be available with the screens, and the frequency in which the screens will be updated. The Town Council has also requested more information on how the £294,000 (awarded by the UKSPF) will be apportioned, and whether funding could be provided from this grant to enable the Town Council to provide a physical tourism presence in the resort.
- 4. **Minutes** to approve the minutes of the last meeting. *(Local Government Act 1972, Section 111)*
- 5. **Public Participation** to receive representations from electors that have requested to speak by 10am regarding a matter on the agenda.

(Morecambe Town Council Standing Orders - Sections 1d-1l)

Note: any electors addressing the Council must not exceed a three minute time limit.

6. **NALC Elections** - to note that the elections for NALC Committees has now opened. As a larger authority (with an electorate of over 6,000 and a budget in excess of £600K per annum), Morecambe Town Council is afforded a 'Direct Vote' for its preferred candidates on NALC's Larger Council Committee. The Larger Council Committee formulates and responds to the policy issues affecting larger councils within NALC's overall framework. It also provides the direction for the services available to larger councils (by direct access) including legal advice, networking opportunities, training, government lobbying and conferences/seminars. A full candidate list can be found online by typing the below URL into an address bar.

https://www.nalc.gov.uk/committees/committee-elections

Nominations for councillor seats include:

Cllr Peter Quinn, Shildon Town Council

Cllr Peter Astell, Beverley Town Council

Cllr Mike Drew, Yate Town Council

Cllr Sophia Vaughan-Hodkinson, Stirchley and Brookside Parish Council

Cllr Phil Barnett, Newbury Town Council

Cllr Rufus Lunn, Faringdon Town Council

Cllr Kellie Hinton, Henley Town Council

Cllr Imogen Makepeace, Lewes Town Council

Cllr Isabella Roberts, Horden Parish Council

Nominations for clerk seats include:

Mrs Shar Roselman, Newport Pagnell Town Council Mr Carl Hearn, Tavistock Town Council Mr Steve McNay, Woughton Community Council Mr Mark Smith, Chippenham Town Council Mr Luke Trevaskis, Morecambe Town Council

7. Finance

- i) Skate Park to consider and agree the quotation from William Daw Road Surfacing for £7,360.00+VAT
- ii) **Elections** to agree a re-charge payment of £11,355.92 be made to Lancaster City Council for the 2023 elections.