

Morecambe Town Council Morecambe Town Hall, Marine Road Morecambe Lancashire LA4 5AF

www.morecambe.gov.uk



Members of Morecambe Town Council:

Cllr C Cozler - Chairman

Cllr P Hart - Vice Chairman

Cllr C Ainscough, Cllr J Ainscough, Cllr D Blacow, Cllr D Bottoms, Cllr L Bradbury, Cllr T Clarke, Cllr B Cooper, Cllr F Cooper, Cllr R Dennison, Cllr W Dixon, Cllr K Gee, Cllr J Goodrich, Cllr J Hanson, Cllr C Kent, Cllr D Knight, Cllr G Knight, Cllr J Livermore, Cllr M Pattison, Cllr J Pilling, Cllr J Rogerson, Cllr J Slater, Cllr M Stenneken, Cllr R Walsh, Cllr D Whitaker.

MINUTES - 11 JULY 2023

Minutes of Morecambe Town Council's Full Council Meeting held at 7pm on the eleventh day of July 2023 at Morecambe Town Hall, Marine Road, Morecambe, LA4 5AF.

Record of Attendance:

Councillors: Cllr C Cozler, Cllr P Hart, Cllr C Ainscough, Cllr J Ainscough, Cllr D Blacow, Cllr D Bottoms, Cllr L Bradbury, Cllr T Clarke, Cllr B Cooper, Cllr F Cooper, Cllr R Dennison, Cllr W Dixon, Cllr J Goodrich, Cllr J Hanson, Cllr C Kent, Cllr D Knight, Cllr G Knight, Cllr J Livermore, Cllr M Pattison, Cllr J Pilling, Cllr J Rogerson, Cllr J Slater, Cllr M Stenneken, Cllr R Walsh, Cllr D Whitaker.

Officers: Luke Trevaskis (Chief Officer).

Press: None.

Public: Six members of the public.

elergez

Mr Luke Trevaskis, CiLCA, PSLCC. Chief Executive

Minute 2023/24-025 - Apologies

Apologies for non attendance received from Cllrs Jim Pilling, John Hanson, John Goodrich, Trish Clarke, Jason Slater, Lee Bradbury, and Monika Stenneken.

Minute 2023/24-026 - Declarations of Interest

Cllr Christian Ainscough declared a non-pecuniary interest in a grant application as a member of the West End Players.

Cllr Deborah Knight declared a non-pecuniary interest in a grant application as the applicant had received funding from the employer of the member (Lancaster University).

Cllr Margaret Pattison declared membership of Lancashire County Council.

Minute 2023/24-027 - Minutes

The minutes of the full council meeting held on 29 June 2023 were approved.

Minute 2023/24-0218 - Public Participation

No requests to speak. Several grant applicants were in attendance and spoke to their application in turn later during the meeting.

Minute 2023/24-029 - Neighbourhood Plan

The Council resolved to accept the Terms of Reference for the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group and its membership consisting of Cllrs Clark Kent, Russell Walsh, Lee Bradbury, Geoff Knight, David Whitaker, Claire Cozler, Joanne Ainscough, John Livermore and Faye Cooper.

Minute 2023/24-030 - Exclusion of the Press and Public

The Council resolved to exclude the press and public on the grounds that the items of business could involve the possible disclosure of exempt information.

Minute 2023/24-031 - Festival Grant Applications

The Council resolved to award a grant of £4,000.00 to the West End Players for upcoming performances.

The Council resolved to award a grant of £3,000.00 to the West End Players for the Morecambe Fringe Festival.

The Council resolved to award a grant of \pounds 5,372 to the 1940s Revival Festival, on the understanding this would be reduced to \pounds 3,372 if the festival does not require the road closures estimated to cost \pounds 2,000.00.

The Council resolved to award a grant of £10,000.00 to Vintage by the Sea Festival.

The Council resolved to award a grant of £9,000.00 to Morecambe Pride.

The Council resolved to defer Grant Application 2023/4-008.

Minute 2023/24-032 - Frontierland

The Council resolved that the PO by permitted to circulate full papers regarding Frontierland to all members, noting that the Council's does not yet have in place a secure system for data-sharing files.