Morecambe Town Council



Morecambe Town Hall, Marine Road Morecambe Lancashire LA4 5AF

www.morecambe.gov.uk clerk@morecambe.gov.uk

Proper Officer: Mr Luke Trevaskis

Minutes of Annual Meeting of Morecambe Town Council held at Morecambe Town Hall at 7pm on the twenty-seventh day of May 2021

Present: Councillors Cary Matthews (Chairman); Paul Anderton; June Ashworth; Alex Ashworth; John Bates; Vicky Boyd-Power; Patricia Clarke; Glenys Dennison; Roger Dennison; Patricia Heath; Margaret Pattison; Jim Pilling, Jason Firth, David Whitaker; Merv Evans, Roger Cleet, Janice Hanson, Mirka Balcer, Mariusz Balcer, Ian Clift, Paul Hart.

In attendance: Mr Luke Trevaskis (Proper Officer) and no members of the public.

Minute 20310

Election of Chairman

Cllr Cary Matthews was duly elected Chairman.

Minute 20311

Election of Vice Chairman

Cllr Paul Anderton was duly elected Vice Chairman.

Minute 20312

Apologies

Apologies for absence received from Cllrs Goodwin and Burns.

Minute 20313

Declarations of Interests

Cllr Pattison noted membership of Lancashire County Council.

Cllr Heath declared an interest in Item 10 on the agenda.

Minute 20314

Minutes

The Council approved the minutes of 29 April 2021.

Minute 20315

Public Participation

A presentation was given by the Frontier Art Collective, speaking to the Council about the Frontierland site, its disuse and the work being undertaken by creative members of the community to provide a platform for art to be showcased along the boundary of the derelict land.

Minute 20316

Casual Vacancies

The Council declared two vacancies and thanked Paula Ross-Clasper and Jack Newton for their service.

Minute 20317

Committees

The Council resolved that the terms of reference for all committees would include ex officio membership for the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Council with no voting rights.

Minute 20318

Grants Committee

The Council resolved to appoint Cllrs Cleet, Piling, Heath, Hanson, Boyd-Power, J Ashworth, Clarke, Whitaker and Matthews to the Committee and adopt the Terms of Reference.

The Council resolved to include a criterion to exclude applications for festivals and events.

Minute 20319

Planning Committee

The Council resolved to appoint Cllrs Anderton, R Dennison, Whitaker, Bates, Clift and Hanson to the Committee and adopt the Terms of Reference (including the amended membership).

Minute 20320

Personnel Committee

The Council resolved to appoint Cllrs J Ashworth, Hanson, Heath, Hart, Anderton, Matthews, Pattison and Cleet to the Committee and adopt the Terms of Reference (including the amended membership).

Minute 20321

Festivals, Sponsorships and Events Committee

The Council resolved to appoint Cllrs J Ashworth, Pattison, Heath, Goodwin, Matthews, Anderton, Boyd-Power, Clarke and Whitaker to the Committee and adopt the Terms of Reference (including the amended membership).

The Council resolved to include a criterion to cap all funding applications for festivals, sponsorships and events at £10,000.

The Council resolved to create two funding rounds per year, to provide more structure to the process for applicants and to assist the Committee in forward budget planning.

The Council resolved to include a criterion to see any events/festivals/sponsorships concluding within eighteen months of the grant award, to provide more time for applicants to forward plan.

The Council resolved to extinguish the criterion regarding exclusion of events/sponsorships/ festivals on bank holidays, to assist applicants in hosting events on such dates.

The Council resolved to include a criterion to exclude applications for remote/digital events/ sponsorships/festivals.

Minute 20322A

Finance and Governance Committee

The Council resolved to appoint Cllrs J Ashworth, Heath, Bates, Piling, R Dennison, Anderton, Matthews, Hanson, and Evans to the Committee and adopt the Terms of Reference (including the amended membership and the additional responsibility to nominate assets of community value, bid for assets of community value, and nominate assets for listed building status).

Minute 20322B

Environment Committee

The Council resolved to appoint Cllrs J Ashworth, T Heath, R Cleet, J Bates, M Pattison, J Goodwin, J Pilling, P Anderton, P Hart, Mirka Balcer, C Matthews, G Dennison, V Boyd-Power to the Committee and adopt the Terms of Reference (including the amended membership).

Minute 20323

Recruitment

The Council resolved the Backstreet budget of 2020-21 and 2021-22 be amalgamated (\pounds 10,000) and supplemented by \pounds 5,000 from General Reserves for the acquisition of an additional lengsthman (budget delegated to the Environment Committee).

Minute 20324

Frontierland

It was resolved to constitute a Working Group consisting of ClIrs Anderton, Piling, Bates, Clarke, Goodwin, Matthews, Hart, and Whitaker to research the opportunities available to develop the former Frontierland site, liaising with the owner of the land, the planning authority, other key stakeholders, and the local community. The Council approved a budget of £5,000 (from general reserves) to be used to seed fund any initial legal advice and/or feasibility studies in consultation with the Proper Officer (having delegated authority to spend this budget).

Minute 20325

Welcome Back Fund

The Council resolved to prioritise projects such as local artisan/food markets, art on the promenade, showers for beachgoers, additional planting, and street entertainment such as a brass band.

The meeting was adjourned at 21:09 to be reconvened at a future date to consider the last agenda item.